Restrictions in place on Beach Road prior to New Years events

Vehicles will not be allowed to enter the Boulevard area from 2:00 p.m. on December 31 to 3:00 p.m. on January 1 to hold hassle-free New Years celebrations on Beach Road. All roads to the east from Ambour Salai will be closed temporarily.

“Beach Road residents will receive vehicle passes. Residents of the White Town area should use the junctions of SV Patel Salai and Francois Mortine Street, Rue Dupuy Street and Gingee Salai, J. N Street and Ginjee Salai, Bussy Street and Gingee Salai, Suffren Street and Subbaiah Salai ”, Superintendent Police chief, Traffic, Rahul Alwal, said in a statement.

Residents and tourists should park their vehicles in temporary car parks made available at the new port, Indira Gandhi sports complex, Petit Séminaire upper secondary school (primary section), Old Jail complex and Bharathidasan government college for children. women. Twenty buses, each escorted by a police officer, will take people from the parking lots to Beach Road. Two-wheelers can be parked on the north side of all roads between Ambour Salai and Mission Street, the statement said.

Seniors who wish to visit churches near Beach Road will receive a special vehicle pass. Passes will be made available to residents and hoteliers in the White Town area. Heavy goods vehicles will be banned in the Boulevard area from 2 p.m. on Dec.31 to 3 p.m. on Jan.1, Mr Alwal said.

“We want to make White Town a pedestrian paradise so that everyone can celebrate the New Year with peace of mind. We call on people to follow all protocols, ”he added.

Senior Police, Law and Order Superintendent Lokeshwaran said the entire beach road would be barricaded and people would only be allowed access through 10 points after the screening. Random checks would be carried out to determine whether people received both blows, he added.

About Ethel Partin

Check Also

Bayview Hotel returns as title sponsor of Armoy Road Races

The Armoy Motorcycle Road Racing Club (AMRRC) has confirmed the title sponsor of this year’s …