Here are the candidates running for office in Upper Middlesex County

Residents of four towns in upper Middlesex county will head to the polls on Tuesday to select their municipal candidates in several top races.

The press compiled information for Middletown, Cromwell, Portland and East Hampton to help voters know what to expect on election day.


There are eight candidates vying for four seats on the Education Council: Republicans Jon Pulino (incumbent), Bill Perkins, David Booth and Charles Wiltsie. The Democratic challengers are Susan Owens, Emily Jackson, Ian McMahon and Debra Guss.

There are seven candidates vying for the three seats on the Planning and Zoning Commission, with two vying for the alternate position. They are Democrats Shanay Fulton, Republican Nick Fazzino, candidate candidate Stephen H. Devoto (all incumbents), and Brian Gartner Jr. and Kelly Sweeney; as well as Republicans Joan Liska and former mayor and city councilor Sebastian Giuliano.

The ballot also contains two referendum questions.

Question 1:
Will the Charter be revised and reorganized to facilitate public understanding and access to local government by instituting: (a) clear standards of ethical conduct for local officials; (b) uniform procedures improving the functioning of boards and commissions; (c) greater accountability and compensation standards in the budget process; (d) non-partisan head of council positions; and (e) equal employment opportunities?

Question 2:
Should the charter be revised to transfer responsibilities for hiring and supervising guards, secretarial and cafeteria staff, tradespeople, central office staff and other employees who do not need to certification from the State Board of Education in Middletown Public Schools from the mayor to the Board of Education and the superintendent of schools?


Two people are vying for the post of mayor, replacing Enzo Faienza, who did not seek re-election.

Local lawyer Aigné S. Goldsby, a Democrat, is the chair of the city’s diversity and inclusion committee. She also sits on the Board of Directors of the State Section of the American Civil Liberties Union and is involved with the Connecticut Bar Association. This will be his first candidacy.

Republican mayoral candidate Allan Spotts is the former city councilor and vice-chairman of the Finance Council. Spotts, 76, moved to Cromwell in 1985 and began his service in 1999, when he became a member of the town’s anniversary committee in preparation for its 150th anniversary celebration.

There are eight candidates running for city council. Outgoing Democratic candidates Al Waters and James Demetriades, and Republicans Jack Henehan, Steve Fortenbach and Jennifer Donohue (deputy mayor) are vying for the four open seats. Their challengers are Democrats Paula Luna and Charles Epstein, and Republican Lou Menendez.

There are eight candidates running for the Board of Education. The candidates for the five vacant seats are Republicans (incumbents) Celina Kelleher, Matthew Zabroski, Alan Schumann and Kelly Franklin; and Democratic challengers Greg Carter, John M. Flanders (one incumbent), Kelly Cloutier and Shannon Hughes-Brown.


There are seven candidates vying for four open seats on the Education Council. They are: incumbents Sharon Peters, Democrat, and Dave Murphy and Timothy Lavoy, Republicans. The challengers are Democrats Barry Rodgers, Kim Nagy-Maruschock, Katelynn Puorro; and Republican Stacey Benham.

There are eight candidates running for the Board of Selectmen. The candidates for the vacant seats are Democrat (incumbent) Ralph Zampano and Republicans (incumbent) Michael Pelton and Michael Hernandez. Their challengers are Democrats John Dillon, Laurel Steinhauser and April Graves; and Republicans Shaun Manning and Robert Hetrick Jr.

There are three candidates vying for the first selectman’s sits as First Selectman Susan Bransfield has decided not to run. Vying for the seats are Democrat James Tripp, and Republican City Clerk and Back to Basics Party candidate Ryan Curley, and US Independent Party member Lambros Lambrinides.

East hampton

There are seven candidates vying for the Finance Council. They are Democrats (incumbents) Ted Turner and Robert Hein; and Republicans Richard Brown and Alannah Danaher Coshow. The challengers are Democrat Kurt Comisky and Republicans Russell Bonaccorso and Bridget McLennan.

There are 10 candidates vying for the city council. They are outgoing Democrats Barbara Moore, Kevin Reich, Pete Brown, Dean Markham and Derek Johnson, and Republicans Mark Philhower and Tim Feegel. The challengers are Republicans Brandon Goff, Eric Peterson and Alison Walck.

There are nine candidates running for the Education Council, Democrats (incumbents) Amanda Amtmanis and Nancy Kohler, and Justin Wagner, a petitioner candidate. The challengers are Democrats Paul Wisniewski and Sarah Strange, and Republicans Salvatore Nucifora, Michael Buck, Christina Tammaro-Dzagan and Josh Piteo.

Polling stations are open from 6 a.m. to 8 p.m.

For locations in a particular city, go to the Registrar’s Office websites: Middletown,; Cromwell,; Portland,; and East Hampton, To view each city’s ballots, visit the Secretary of State’s website at

About Ethel Partin

Check Also

Texas all-state running back Seth Davis announces upcoming commitment; Pac-12, SEC schools among finalists

Over the past two years, few running backs in America have been as productive as …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.