Beavers Split Squad for Don Kirby Elite Invitational and Husky Classic

CORVALLIS, Ore. – The Oregon State women’s track team will split this weekend for the Don Kirby Elite Invitational, hosted by the University of New Mexico and the Husky Classic, hosted by the University of Washington . Both meetings are scheduled for February 11 and 12.

Don Kirby Elite Invitational | Albuquerque, New Mexico | February 11-12

The Don Kirby Elite Invitational kicks off Friday at 2 p.m. MT (1 p.m. PT). Oregon State will begin the afternoon competition on the track with the unranked 200 meters, which is scheduled for 2:55 p.m. MT (1:55 p.m. PT). The Beavers will open the competition with the women’s long jump and women’s high jump, both scheduled for 3 p.m. MT (2 p.m. PT).

The action at the Don Kirby Elite Invitational continues Saturday with an 8:30 a.m. (7:30 a.m. PT) start. Oregon State’s first event on the track will be the women’s 60-meter hurdles qualifying round, scheduled for 9:45 a.m. (8:45 a.m. PT). The only event at the Beavers’ field will be the women’s triple jump, scheduled for 10:30 a.m. MT (9:30 a.m. PT).

Classic Husky | Seattle, Washington | February 11-12

Action at the Husky Classic kicks off at 2 p.m. PT Friday. The Beavers’ only on-court event of the day in Seattle will be the women’s shot put, scheduled for a 2:30 p.m. PT start. OSU will also begin action on the track at 2:30 p.m. PT with the women’s 60-meter hurdles preliminary round.

On Saturday, the Husky Classic will resume at 10:00 a.m. PT. The Beavers will compete in the women’s shot put to start the day’s competition and are expected to start the events with the women’s 400 meters at noon.

Last outing
Oregon State traveled to Spokane, Wash., for the WSU Invitational & Open, Feb. 3-5, scoring 15 top 10 finishes over the weekend. Junior Anneke Moersdorf and second Delaney Bahn opened competition for the Beavers on Feb. 3, finishing second (3,840 points) and seventh (3,492 points), respectively, in their first career pentathlons. Moersdorf and Bahn are now third and fifth in OSU’s all-time list for the event. Second year Adaël Scatena won the WSU Open 400 meters with a personal best 56.84, which is the fifth fastest time on the Oregon State all-time record list. senior red shirt Keely McLaughlin notched a second-place finish in the WSU Open shot put with a throw of 14.49m (47′ 6.5″). In the WSU Invitational high jump, senior Emma Nelson tied for fourth after clearing a height of 1.71m (5′ 7.25″) and rookie Scatena 4x400m relay team Jada Hurleyjunior paige sefriedand freshman Chelsie Emmerson took sixth place with a time of 3:52.42.

NCAA Ranking

In the 3000 meters, junior red shirt Kaylee Mitchell is currently 13th in the nation, along with fellow junior redshirt Grace Fetherstonhaugh in 21st after times of 9:03.26 and 9:06.86, respectively, at the UW Invitational (Jan. 28). Fetherstonhaugh is also 40th in the 5,000 meters, with a time of 16:26.02, set at the Spokane Invitational on Dec. 11. Moersdorf is 39th in the pentathlon after scoring 3,840 points at the WSU Invitational (February 3-5). The Senior Medley Relay (DMR) Team Mary FriedmanScatena, freshman Jillian Brownand second Amber Jackson are currently 42nd with a time of 11:38.06, set at the UW Invitational (January 28).

Pac-12 Ranking

The Beavers are in the top 10 in nine event categories on the Pac-12 indoor performance list. Mitchell remains in the lead in the 3,000 meter class with Fetherstonhaugh close behind. Fetherstonhagh and Mitchell also remain third and fourth, respectively, in the 5,000 meters since their performances at the Spokane Invitational (December 11). Moersdorf is fifth in the pentathlon (3840 points), sixth in the long jump (5.92 m (19′ 5.25″)) and ninth in the triple jump (12.08 m (39′ 7.75″)). OSU remains seventh in the DMR. The Beavers are eighth in the high jump with Denbow and Nelson’s clearances of 1.73m (5’8″), as well as in the shot put with McLaughlin’s throw of 14.49m (47’6.5 “), and in the pentathlon with Bahn’s score of 3492 points.

Don Kirby Elite Event Calendar
Albuquerque, New Mexico | February 11-12
Beavers in competition

Friday February 11
Events on the ground
3:00 p.m. MT (2:00 p.m. PT) – Long jump
Delaney Bahn
Anneke Moersdorf
Chelsea Howard

3:00 p.m. MT (2:00 p.m. PT) – High Jump
Lara Denbow
Emma Nelson
Savannah Reilly

The track events
2:55 PM MT (1:55 PM PT) – 200m
Delaney Bahn
Abby Buckley
Chelsie Emmerson
Jada Hurley

5:00 PM MT (4:00 PM PT) – 400m
Chelsie Emmerson
Adaël Scatena
paige sefried

Saturday February 12
Events on the ground
10:30 a.m. MT (9:30 a.m. PT) – Triple jump
Lara Denbow
Anneke Moersdorf
Jaaden Steele

The track events
9:45 a.m. MT (8:45 a.m. PT) – 60m hurdles | The qualifying round
Adaël Scatena

10:15 a.m. MT (9:15 a.m. PT) – 60m | The qualifying round
Abby Buckley
Chelsea Howard
Jada Hurley

11:10 a.m. MT (10:10 a.m. PT) – 60m hurdles | Semi final

11:30 a.m. MT (10:30 a.m. PT) – 60m | Semi final

12:40 MT (11:40 PT) – 60m hurdles | Final

1:35 p.m. MT (12:35 p.m. PT) – 60m | Final

Calendar of events Husky Classic
Seattle, Washington | February 11-12
*All Pacific Hours

Beavers in competition

Friday February 11
Events on the ground
2:30 p.m. – Shot put
Billings of Markayla
Caitlyn Marx
Keely McLaughlin
Jade Whitfield

The track events
2.30pm – 60m Hurdles | preliminary round
Jade Newton

3:00 p.m. – 3000m | Rounds 1-6
Liv Downing
Emilie Foote
Aleen Golla
Kate Intile
Audrey Looker
Gaby Peterson
Zoe Simmons

5:10 p.m. – 60m Hurdles | Final

7:15 p.m. – 200m
Jade Newton

8:35 p.m. – 3000m | Series 7 and 8
Grace Fetherstonhaugh
Christina Geisler
Kaylee Mitchell

Saturday February 12
Events on the ground
10:00 a.m. – Shot put
Keely McLaughlin
Jordan Spradlin
Jade Whitfield

The track events
12h00 – 400m
Sydney van der Zee

12:40 p.m. – Thousand
Grace Fetherstonhaugh
Christina Geisler
Amber Jackson
Kaylee Mitchell
Emilie Perez

2:45 p.m. – 800m
Mary Friedman

About Ethel Partin

Check Also

Canadian government requires ArriveCan app for Detroit marathon runners

If you plan to run the Detroit Free Press Marathon on October 16, you will …