August election includes two contested school board races as early voting begins Friday

July 10, 2022
By: Dwayne Page

There are two disputed Board of Education races in the August 4 DeKalb County general election.

Voters in Districts 1, 2, 3, 4, and 7 will elect one school board member. The mandates are 4 years from September 1st.

Early voting begins Friday, July 15 and ends Saturday, July 30.

There are no Democratic or Republican candidates for the District 1 school board, but incumbent Danny Parkerson is running unopposed as an independent for re-election.

Outgoing School Board member Alan Hayes (Republican) is unopposed in District 2.

Outgoing school board member Jim Beshearse (Republican) in District 3 is unopposed.

Three people are in the running to succeed outgoing school board member Kate Miller in District 4 who is not seeking re-election. Those candidates are Democrat Dr. Scott Little, Republican Eric Ervin and Independent Tony Poss.

Incumbent District 7 School Board member Shaun Tubbs is running for re-election as an independent and will face opposition from Republican Ryan Mollinet.

Early voting hours are as follows at the DeKalb County Courthouse in Smithville: Mondays 1-5 p.m.; Tuesdays from 9 a.m. to 1 p.m.; Wednesday from 9 a.m. to 1 p.m.; Thursdays from 2 p.m. to 6 p.m.; Fridays from 9 a.m. to 1 p.m. and Saturdays from 9 a.m. to 12 p.m. Early voting will also take place again in the western part of the county on a limited basis. The DeKalb County Fairgrounds will be the early voting site on July 19 from 3-5 p.m. and July 25 from 9-11 a.m. Each early voting site is for any registered DeKalb County voter.

About Ethel Partin

Check Also

Ross Chastain takes on the family motto in the race for the title: Just Do It

AVONDALE, Ariz. — A video game move sent Ross Chastain into the Cup championship race, …