All six candidates elected to Graduate Student Council, six registered

Voters elected the six candidates running and six writing to the Graduate Student Council (GSC) in this year’s Associated Student of Stanford University (ASSU) election. Of the 15 council seats, 12 were filled, according to the elections results released on Monday.

The graduate student participation rate rose from 8.73% last year to 9.91%, although the participation rate has still not returned to 2020 levels, when 23.02% of the graduate student population voted. The election marks the continuation of the GSC’s fight since the start of the pandemic to increase its visibility and engagement with the graduate student population.

The former GSC co-chair, the former engineering district representative, and the sixth-year mechanical engineering Ph.D. will return to the board. student Yiqing Ding, who was elected general representative with 179 votes. Beginning his fifth term on the GSC, Ding will be the longest-serving representative on the new council.

Guillem Megias Homar, a second-year master’s student in aerospace, aeronautical and astronautical/space engineering, joined Ding as general representative, who received 322 votes. The remaining three seats at large were filled by registered candidates.

Fourth-year PhD in Modern Thought and Literature. student Jamie Fine was also reelected to represent the humanities district. Luis Sanchez Tejada MA ’23 was elected to represent the Social Sciences District.

No candidate has officially come forward to represent the schools of education, natural sciences, law, business, earth sciences or medicine. Jarita Greyeyes, fourth-year doctoral student. education student, Jyotirmai Singh, a fourth-year Ph.D. physics student and Horace (Chico) Payne, a first-year law student, received three, two, and five write-in votes to win the School of Education, School of Natural Sciences, and University seats, respectively. Council Law School.

Three seats were not filled due to ties among the registered candidates. Two written candidates tied for the position of representative from the School of Medicine, 12 tied for the Graduate School of Business, and six tied for the School of Earth Sciences, with each writing receiving one vote.

ASSU Elections Commissioner Cameron Ehsan ’24 did not immediately respond to a request for comment on how the board will fill its remaining seats. Ehsan is an editor for The Daily. It is unclear whether the board will be able to immediately fill them, given that, with the exception of Payne, the written nominees all received less than five votes and are not required to join the board. Although GSC’s bylaws do not specify how to proceed in this situation, the new board will likely contact applicants, including those for linked registrations, to see if they are interested in the position, as it has did last year.

About Ethel Partin

Check Also

Iowa Football Rewind: Breaking down Iowa’s 2022 running back situation in four games

Iowa Hawkeyes running back Gavin Williams (25) carries the ball during a game between the …